The Three Musketeers by Alexander Dumas

Barnes & Nobles Classics series edition

I found this to be quite entertaining at times, quite dull at others, and kept scratching my head the entire time wondering why exactly this is considered a classic.  Maybe I’m a little high-brow with what I would call a classic (regardless if I liked it or not), but I wouldn’t put this book beside the likes of Thomas Hardy, Charles Dickens, Herman Melville.

Of all the characters, I actually liked Milady the best. I find her to be like Ron Rash’s Serena; a villainess you can’t help but not hate.  I found Milady’s captivity chapters the most entertaining and interesting of all the scenes in the book.  Will she worm her way out? If so, how will she succeed?  Maybe I’m a little bit of a contrarian, but I found that the most fascinating scene.

